Nearly not going to Geelong this week…

Til now, finding someone to go to the games with has been relatively straight forward. But not this week…

Seemed simple enough, someone who follows Geelong calls in, i’ll meet them at the game we’ll drink some beer, sing some songs, yell furious abuse at displaced sandgropers who happen to have made their way to Kardinia Park and celebrate the rousing victory when my team gets up over the competition leaders. Oh no no no. If only it was that easy.

From memory (and hey, i’m not Media Monitors) it went a little something like this:

LINDY: Helen’s (or whatever her name was) called in from Geelong. Helen, you’re a Geelong fan?

CALLER (Possibly Helen): Yes and we don’t want him to come on Sunday.

LINDY: So you’re not calling in to take Marcus then?

CALLER: No, he’s a jinx. Tell him to go and see another team.

ME: I’m not a total jinx. I am coming off a few losses, but i have had a couple of wins.

CALLER: I don’t care, we don’t want you to come to Geelong. You’re bad luck!

LINDY: Do you live in Geelong?

CALLER: I do, but he is not coming to the game with me.

LINDY: Right, well it looks like we’ll have to cut you off there and find someone who does want to take Marcus. Can someone please call in and offer to take Marcus to the Football?

ME: Looks like i will be going to Geelong by myself. If anyone wants to say hello i will be the one standing on the hill by myself, cheering at the wrong moment and calling everyone in the Geelong side Ablett.

LINDY: There are a few of them.

ME: Yeah, well they’re all Ablett’s to me…

LINDY: Can someone from Geelong please call in?

Now, while i will concede that 2 wins from 6 games is not a great performance i think that’s unfortunately about average for Victorian based teams this season (or last season, or any season since about the turn of the millenium!). Two of my losing teams haven’t had a win without me either! Still, I am making a note to myself to go and see some of the interstate teams in the next few weeks so i can either have some victories or avenge Victoria by bringing my hex upon them.

As for you Helen or whatever your name was from Geelong, i am not sure that the theory that i am bad luck for Geelong holds up. I’ve seen them play once in my life and they put on more than Sri Lanka did in the world cup cricket final.

The good news is that someone called Brian called in. The even better news is that he has his own corporate box and the grog will be flowing liberally. Not that i am influenced by such things.

Leave a comment